Rockwell – Everything (& U)

March 15, 2011

I am buying less DnB these days purely as I find that its either a) production wank made soley by producers for producers; b) far to rough and tough for an old fella like myself; c) half ass liquid that has been done 1000x b4; d) wobble or minimal bullshit that in my opinion is unlistenable unless your completely off your head.

I initially skipped the above release because the hyped up tune on the A side was what I’d consider as a). I do believe what Rockwell is doing is outstanding, ever since I picked up the Noir EP on Critcal, but sometimes I feel he does get a little lost in the technical side of things rather than making a tune you can dance or groove out to. As you can see what the title of this post reads, I bagged this slice for Everything (& U). This tune is ultra chilled, on the atmospheric tip (like something Omni Trio were doing back in the 90’s), packed with lush harp sounds, glitchy drums and a delightful male vocal. Also I really appreciate that Darkestral go the distance with their vinyl only releases, with the  plastic anti static inner sleaves, crisp artwork, limited/deluxe 180g pressings and in this case vinyl that plays from the inside of the wax to the outside – spun out!! This 12″ is something I will cherish my entire life.

A bit off topic …. A response that left me thinking the other eve is when I questioned a good mate why he has switched to digital. He basically concluded that some of the really small digital labels are putting out quality stuff that the bigger more established UK labels won’t go near (thus no vinyl release), that 99% of the stuff dropping on wax is not representing how good DnB is atm, or the big cats like Bukem/Fabio unofficially sign tunes and sit on them until they are forgotten then the frustrated producers have no option but to put them out digitally. If your a big DnB fan then you have no real choice but to invest in Serato, Traktor or a CDJ!!!

2 Responses to “Rockwell – Everything (& U)”

  1. DiamonDEyE said

    That is very true regarding the first part of that paragraph. This is why me as a producer and many others are aiming to make music for the people. Same goes with their DJ sets, they play for themselves. I dont know where this culture has come from. DNB was awesome a few years ago. If you’re not involved as a producer talking to the people putting out decent music no-one will hear it.

    You’re right again also that they sit on tunes that they’ll never sign so the best thing is to stop sending them tunes.

Leave a Reply

