Calibre – Love’s To Tight Too Mention

October 9, 2009

SIG015aa Calibre -  Love's to tight to mention
I think I am the only person amongst the deeper dnb fans who isn’t really feeling Calibre‘s music the last couple of years. I have been buying most his releases though I must admit the last few are sitting unplayed on my record shelves.  I um’d and ahh’d over this record but Love’s To Tight Too Mention is off the chain. His use of the orchestral chords, a tender DRS vocal, incredible mix down and a Second Sun LP era vibe make this side simply irisistable. The flip is nice, but the keys are identital to his cut Groove Me (mistical collab), the use of a piano is nothing really new or exciting for him and his singing sounds awful. Everyone reckons he can sing but if he sung acapella would you go and see him…. !!?? Maybe I am being harsh but I miss the pre-2005 Calibre magic.

2 Responses to “Calibre – Love’s To Tight Too Mention”

  1. decon said

    sad but true …

  2. M. said

    I agree and it’s not just you, I was speaking to another DJ who we both have been following Calibre for years and yeah the singing is really embarrassing, he should use vocalist’s or D.Bridge who has had vocal training.

    His older stuff, like Fire and Water was incredible, and even Trust and Waiting, it had that Calibre vibe but where is it now? What’s happened? If using Logic is bad for production then i advise everyone to quit making music

Leave a Reply

